IFish Fishing Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about fishing? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
600 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm fairly new to salmon fishing and was wondering how effective drift fishing is for salmon? I love drift fishing for steelhead and want to see from the experts on how it stacks up against other techniques such as float fishing, or back bouncing. any sugestions on a good rig set up?

thank you! :cheers:
chris

·
Registered
3,510 Posts
You can drift fish for salmon the same way you do steelhead. I do it all the time, even at Hi rocks! Many times I often catch salmon drifting corkies and sandshrimp! Once they get into upper Mciver that is all I do!

·
Registered
7,921 Posts
Years ago we used to drift fish for salmon on the McKenzie. We caught fish, but then I moved to Grants Pass and learned how to back bounce. If you're fishing from a drift boat, back bouncing will produce many more fish. Other techniques such as KwikFish will also produce

·
Registered
4,841 Posts
I have a boat and plug gear but I prefer to drift fish for them. I never liked bobber fishing, I like the feel of a good bite, especially the ones where they play with the bait for a while, tap tap, tap tap, chew chew, tap. Feels like a little trout and WHAM!!!!
I'm betting you have the Clack in mind. You already know the big pools and eddies where the slaughter goes on, not hard to miss. Those pools get fished for a reason. They hold a lot of fish and it is typical water that salmon prefer.