IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6,254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
Headed out to Depoe Bay yesterday 8/14 for some "bank bound" rock fishing. The ledge at Boiler bay proved to be the most productive, all nice bass and one of Austin's went nearly 5lbs.
They are still hitting artificials, as the octopus and squid I tried for bait produced nothing.
I did get one undersized ling on a black curly tail grub.
All in all a great way to spend my one day off this week. Sunshine, cool breezes and tight lines!!
Sorry, no pics tho,... We gotta get that digicam I guess.
Jamie
PS The whale watching was cool too. Lots of rolling and spouting going on out there!

[ 08-15-2003, 07:39 AM: Message edited by: lingslayer ]

·
Registered
6,494 Posts
Ling slayer... I have never done that before but it sounds like fun. I have a few questions..

Are there specific spots you look for on the rip rap? If so what do you look for? Water depth, neaby secondary cover, or???
This sounds like something you could do many places up and down the coast. Thanks

·
Banned
2,392 Posts
rob allen-

just do a search under "Depoe Bay". You'll find an incredible amount of information that should get you well on your way thanks to Depoe Bay Dan. You can pick up all the gear you need right there in Depoe Bay at the 76 gas station. Good luck and let us know how it goes.

SH22

·
Registered
6,254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Rob,
Depoe Bay Dan showed us his favorite spots and most all of them consist of steep rocky areas with rocky bottoms. There is submerged rocks, kelp and/or grasses in them too which provdes some cover/structure. If you can't get together with Dan, drop me a line and we'll holler the next time we go over. We'll share what we've been shown and what to use and how. You aren't afraid of heights are you? :grin:
The ledge on the south side of Boiler Bay drops off very quickly with underwater shelves stepping out to about 30'-40'.