IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
1,095 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a very novice rower, with a db that I purchased used. Need help with oar setup, and yes I have searched Ifish and read all posts. When my oars are slid down until the rubber stops hit the locks, the ends of the oars overlap by about a couple inches - right or wrong? I have pinched my fingers between the oars and boy does that smart!

Also, from what I can gather from Ifish posts. Some row with the stops against the locks, and some say no. Which is it?

Thanks,
wishin

· Banned
2,791 Posts
Here is my 2 cents.

First off, if you have oar-rites, get rid of those (doesn't appear that you do) They are really not that helpful and will tend to just get in the way.

Second, how are you comfortable rowing the boat? I can't imagine being comfortable with my hands that close together. I would start by rolling the stops toward the handles at least 18" on each oar. That will give you about 30" (minus the previous overlap) between the handles.

I personally don't like to row against the stops, hence they are rolled close to the handles. This gives me flexibility and I can move the oars in or out slightly based on my mood.

Dan(ger)

· Registered
1,615 Posts
I use oar stops to keep the oars from sliding out of the locks and into the water; otherwise, I do not use them for anything.

Re: Rowing... Just like driver's seat and steering wheels adjustments, how you use the oars, and the rowers seat, is an individual thing, based upon size, arm & leg length, rowing stroke, and comfort.

In time, you will find your comfort level. If it turns out that your oars handles will overlap, you can simply stagger them one behind the other while pulling toward you.