IFish Fishing Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about fishing? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11,223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now that the salmon are done for a while on the big river I want to turn some attention to to those lovely summer steelies.
From what I have found out on this board I think you fish the same kind of water as springers, 6'-20' deep using a dropper with a spinner or flatfish. If anyone has any other advice I sure would appreciate any input. :shrug: If I am off on the water depth let me know. I have also had some great success pulling plugs for these fish up river, does that work down in the PDX to St. Helens area too?

Thanks for the help :grin: :cheers:

·
Registered
2,460 Posts
Shane, i am no expert but from my experience you have the key points down. I like the mouths of Cowlitz, Kalama, Sandy, or sandy beaches with gradual slope. I have not pulled plugs (warts) much but i have seen them catch fish trolling the mouths. Instead of the wire spinner i like a prawn style spinner with sand shrimp or with out. This year i am going to try smaller prawns too. You could use a spinglo instead of spinner if the current is slow. The nice thing is the bonus summer chinooks the last few years. Good luck and we'll see you out there.

·
Registered
3,581 Posts
Dude...Try a red/black dot U-20 with extremely sharp hooks. And be ready for more than a steelhead.
:grin:

Now hurry and go buy some before everybody gets cleaned out!!

If you fish where there's "flow" enough to spin a spinner...that #124 Flash Glo packs a mean punch too.(Forgive me, Rick) :bowdown:

I'm sure you'll keep us all posted.

Any of my fishin buddies wanna post last year's summer salmon pics here...for some "anticipation"...feel free. Takes me too long.

Good luck out there...

Mark

·
Registered
1,478 Posts
Originally posted by FishinMission: