IFish Fishing Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about fishing? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
743 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to trolling for silvers in the big river. I will be down in the Longview area, and the mouth of the cowlitz. I've got downriggers and am eager to try for some coho this year. My idea is to run a flasher with 12-18 inch leader with a spinner following. Does this sound good? Also I have some bigger rapalas, crippled herring and flatfish. What depth should I start, 20'? Any advice welcome, thanks!

·
Registered
39,369 Posts
"I've got downriggers." Just because you have them doesn't mean you should use them. Why not fish the way everyone else does? Interpretations of the word "flasher" can mean different things. Can you be more specific? I don't know enough about targeting Silvers up river from Astoria area to recommend anything but I'd probably go with a dodger and a spinner a couple feet behind.

·
Premium Member
14,500 Posts
"Conform or be cast out"

If you're not in the thick of things with other boats, give your downriggers a shot. It's not been too weedy when I've been out and I think the river has maybe cooled another degree or two.

·
Premium Member
14,500 Posts
Death Before Downriggers should be the mantra on the big C!
I think folks are worried that downriggers would become standard and then they would have to go buy a boat full of them.
Since the guides wouldn't be able to manage a six pack of clients plus all of the downriggers I don't think we have to worry about it.

Reactions: crabbydan

·
Registered
1,537 Posts
Always surprises me how much some people hate downriggers. They're a tool and a really good tool. Not all tools are right for every job however.