IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Banned
7,726 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is an interesting article from the Meford Mail Tribune concerning inbred fish..... Co-nook??

·
Registered
3,796 Posts
I caught one two weeks ago. About 15lbs, black spots, greener body, grey/speckled gumline, forked tail. Rudder. Now I know what it was. Nature responding to our fiddling. It went back into the drink.

·
Registered
2,818 Posts
Wow, I've had several Coho this year I had to look twice at because I thought they were Chinook. Their gum line was kind of a grayish color but their markings were more like Chinook. I threw them all back. I had to pull out my fish ID'er to review the difference and I've been fishing for them for 30 years. Maybe because the Coho are so big this year its hard to tell the difference initially.

·
Banned
3,904 Posts
Those conclusions, however, are at the root of a series of coastal rumors over the co-nucks’ creation. Some believe the fish are used as a way to write more fishing tickets. Others have even speculated that the ODFW actively breeds co- nucks to keep ocean anglers from keeping them, thereby boosting carcass sales at places like Cole Rivers Hatchery.
<font size="2" face="verdana,arial,helvetica">"Coastal rumors"? No way, not aroud here! :grin:

Kind of interesting though as some of us locals were just talking about that last week. One of the fish fileter's was talking about a peculliar salmon he fileted that included grey gum lines. I told him I would inquire with one of our local bio's and see if this could happen in the hatchery or the wild and that it would make an interesting thread on ifish.

I would like to see them breed some coho with lingcod so we could have some year round cohocod fishing. :grin:

Dano

·
Registered
5,290 Posts