IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3,604 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now that many of you have given some awesome sounding clam chowder recipes, I'm hungry already for more.

With the recent beach closures for clamming, is there a place in Newport Bay you can clam? Also, how low of a tide do you need to get decent clamming. I've heard any minus tide, but how minus does the tide need to be before I am wasting my time?

How about Netarts, can you clam on any minus tide or do you have to be let's say -1 foot or more?

I'm new to clamming, and only have been once last year when the tide was about -1.5 at Netarts. We got close to our limit.

Today is question day, if the beach is closed for clamming are the bays toxic also? I don't see a closure for bays, unless I am missing something.

I'm very interested in learning where to clam in Newport Bay. This Saturday is a -.76 tide, is that good?

SKP

·
Registered
4,286 Posts
Check your mail...

·
Registered
3,838 Posts
I am also very curious about this. I am dying to do some clamming in the next few weeks. I guess I would have the same questions as SKP

·
Registered
216 Posts
Oregon has a hot line for clamming closures 503-986-4728 this will tell you where it is safe to clam. :cheers:

·
Registered
3,604 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I finally found an answer for clamming the bays on the ODFW website weekly fishing report. Here's the quote:

"Coastwide, bays are open for the harvest on non-razor clams, and all areas are open for mussels."

We can go clamming at Newport. I'm getting hungry! :cheers:

SKP

[ 06-26-2003, 01:32 PM: Message edited by: SKP ]

·
Registered
672 Posts
Ramstrong!
That is a great tip! The using of a dowel to measure depth! Does it work on geoducks?

·
Registered
17,112 Posts

·
Registered
1,640 Posts
Gutz,

I'd imagine it'd work on geoducks. We don't have them down in Coos Bay. But the big Gapers are 2+ feet down and that's how we got them.

mmmm clam strips!

·