IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to targeting salmon and steelhead so please enlighten me. I want to fish the Clackamas and am curious what the best bet is there. I've seen a lot of steelhead jumping up in the upper clackamas but really know nothing about targeting them. I've really only fished for them twice and haven't gotten a strike. Well at least one that I detected. I've been floating jigs and trying to set the bobber height right off of the bottom and covering the entire hole with one color, ripping that color off, tying up another, and then covering the hole again. Is this just not a good time? I tried the hole underneath the bridge at Faraday Lake. Fish everywhere and I'll be darned if I couldn't get one to take the jig. I walked a stretch in the upper clackamas by roaring river... Nada. Any tips?

I also want to try and bonk some Coho. Will they take jigs? Or, should i just try to float some eggs or herring? I really don't have a clue and most of my so called fishing buddies are zipperlipped. I am going to float the stretch between Carver and Riverside park with a friend that is a former guide. He says we'll target Coho. The guy does bring in a ton of fish.

Final note. Is it okay to hike the river? I've heard the navigable river rule but is the lower clackamas considered navigable? I want to hike up from riverside and fish a couple of holes about a half mile up and there is some sort of construction in the river.

·
Registered
3,510 Posts