IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all fishers,

I've just been contacted by the U.S. Dept. of the Interior and the National Park Service. I have been a SCUBA diving instructor/examiner for them over that last 15 years. About 6 years ago I was offered an opportunity to Dive on the USS Arizona at Pearl Harbor to help map out the wreck as well as develop on underwater oil "catch" system to determine how much oil was leaking daily. Somehow over the years the system I developed got lost and I have been invited to build another one and come to Hawaii to reinstall it.

This is again an opportunity of a lifetime! I can't put into words the feelings and emotions felt while being there the 1st time. This time I will be shooting my own personal pictures to post here on Ifish, as just for all ifishers to enjoy. Let me know if you might have any photographic requests from Pearl Harbor.

·
Registered
169 Posts
I visited the AZ. OCT 1964 on my way to Nam. a very humbling experience!

·
Banned
8,921 Posts
Wow, Kujo, that is truly mind-boggling. Thanks for offering to take us along, even if it just viewing the pics when you get back. Just imagining you there is overwhelming.

Whisper "thanks" for me while you're down there, will you? :bowdown:

Skein

·
Registered
6,936 Posts
:shocked: Wow. Most definitely the opportunity of a lifetime, AGAIN!
Somebody told me a long time ago that the govt poured concrete over the wreck.
Is this true?

·
Registered
8,918 Posts
I was on the deck of the Missouri this spring. It was a very informative and emotional experience. Enjoy your trip, have fun, do a great job and say another prayer for me for all those that gave their life for the rest of us.

·
Registered
325 Posts