IFish.net banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
540 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is your preference for winter steelhead: Braided line all the way to the jig or braided line with mono leader. Does this vary based on the conditions? What conditions? How long of a leader do you use? What is less visible to or steelhead: mono or a braided line much smaller in diameter: like 10lb mono vs 20lb power pro. I am very new to fishing braided line but I loved it fishing for (not very line shy) silvers this year in the Sandy. I've had good success jig fishing for steelhead (mono all the way) the past couple of years an I just don't want limit my success.

·
Registered
5,191 Posts
I don't use braided lines when jig fishing just 8lb berkley XL.I fish from a boat so I'm not having to cast that far so mending the line is not a problem.I do know some who use braided lines and they run a 3-4 foot mono leader.
R.R.

·
Registered
3,279 Posts
I'm a big believer in Power Pro. The stuff is hard to beat if you're float fishing. I used mucilin coated mono for over ten years and power Pro is in my opinion a much better way to go.

For winter steelhead I like using Power Pro as my mainline and then 10# maxima ultragreen for the leader.

Mark

·
Registered
3,410 Posts
I actually prefer Fireline line
#20 on my casting reels
#14 on my spinning reels

and I use the flame green on both

It is easy to workwith
casts a country mile and you get a couple years out of it!

·
Registered
123 Posts
Does anyone have an opinion between the moss green power pro and the yellow power pro? I think I've decided to go with the power pro but am trying to decide which color, I think the moss green will blend in alot better than the yellow.

·
Registered
3,410 Posts
I fish hi-vis line on everything these days!
Boat rod, float fishing as well a drift fish, even plug rods!

I like to know where and what my line is doing as well as know where the line is of others in the boat!