IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been a visitor to your site often. I admire the friendship and camaraderie that is found here. I would love to share stories of success and failure but I am a rookie when it comes to fishing this area. I moved here 11 years ago and immediately started to pursue my main passion, duck hunting, so I have a nice duck boat that will allow me to get out on the water. How do you all think is the best way for me to learn the details of fishing for Salmon and Steelhead on the Willamette and Columbia. I appreciate your help.
Scott

·
Registered
499 Posts
When someone posts an open seat give them a call. Maybe you could even start a post. Ask to help with expenses for a opportunity to learn how and where to fish with someone how knows the area. If you were to do this a couple times you would be familiar with some of the areas and ways to fish them. Hope this helps. SPACE

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
Scottev,

1. Fisherman's and GI Joes have seminars which are great for getting the basics.

2. Go out fishing with a guide if you can swing it. See how it's done.

3. Check out all the archived questions/answers here on Ifish.

4. Take Items 1, 2 and 3 and go fishing. I found the other fishermen out on the water to be real helpful.

Soon it will be your turn to be giving the advice <grin>.

Brion

[ 05-06-2003, 08:31 PM: Message edited by: BrionLutz ]

·
Registered
14,508 Posts
Get a 2nd mortgage for 100% in cash. Quit your job. Fish a lot.

Or learn the hard way like the rest of us. Wow, think about it- The learning is fun. It gets a lot worse than that!

Mark and the dog.

·
Premium Member
14,746 Posts
keep an eye on the main board for what runs are current. right now, the talk is all about the columbia and the willamette. coming up will be the sandy and clackamas as the springers move up. also, there are summer run steelhead moving in right now.