IFish.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,340 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I have the itchin to go to the coast and go salmon fishing but I have never launched out of Astoria for the ocean. I have 12 years of experience crossing Coos Bay and Winchester bay (Can get nasty) in a 18ft boat and can generally tell when to cross and not. I was just wondering if someone can advise what the weather will be like this weekend. Generally the high tide brings the wind in on the southern coast, how is it up here. Tides look perfect for a crossing on incomming and a return on high so I want to go just do not want to drive from Hillsboro is if is going to be nasty.

Thanks in advance.

Fishgetter

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
My opinion only but doesnt look good for 18' boat.

Im fairly comfortable crossing the CR in a 20' Hewes Sea Runner and Id be

on the fence leaning towards no go for this weekend.

NOAA says 2&7. Wetsands is a little nicer at 5/6 ish swells at 9 seconds.

Sunday looks a little better.

The thing is that if the forecast is slightly off and its 2&4 at 9 secs its

doable for my boat.

The reports for the river are picking up. You could take a look at the pond

and fish the river if its sporty outside.

Dont take any unecessary risk. Its not worth it.

·
Registered
307 Posts
Sat
N wind 15 kt. Wind waves 4 ft. NW swell 5 to 6 ft.
Sun
N wind 15 kt...rising to 25 kt. Wind waves 4 ft...building to 7 ft. NW swell 5 to 6 ft.

Looks like it would be a rough ride both days. I would wait and try it another weekend. Just my :twocents:

·
Registered
1,652 Posts
We're fishing Astoria - but not in the ocean - unless a dramatic change in the forecast - and I've an 18' Striper - six combined at eight or less is my line in the sand to cross ... sloppy to run a boat that size in seas like that, you spend most of your time holding the tiller and/or the gunnel.
We'll monitor VHF - boat's name in Little Pelican or BWBF will work

·
Registered
1,340 Posts