IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Following is a post by a well informed individual who has been actively following Senate Bill 293. This is a bill that would ultimately result our losing the right to use our public waterways for floating and fishing. Please get involved - if we lose this battle we have only ourselves to blame.

"I have spent the last twenty-four hours seriously considering Senate Bill 293 and my views on it. Because so many of you have demonstrated support for my efforts, I feel it prudent to make those views as clear and succinct as possible.
First, I want everyone to know that my views about Senate Bill 293 are just that -- my views. I am not a lawyer. I based my opinion on what I have read and my observations at two public hearings and a rap-through work session on this bill. I urge you to read the original bill as posted on line. I also urge you to contact Judith Callens at (503) 986-1688 and request copies of the bill as printed and copies of all proposed amendments. Take time to read them and form your own opinions.

I do not believe the introduction of Senate Bill 293 was something the long-time local ranchers, farmers, or land owners came up with originally. I believe the concept originated with a few, very wealthy, politically powerful land owners that moved into the affected areas in recent years. I believe that once formulated the intent was championed next by people that recently moved in from other states or from larger cities. People that purchased riverfront property with the intent of creating their own private preserves only to discover that other people used “their river” too.