Pouring lead molds - www.ifish.net
The Oregonian's Bill Monroe!

Go Back   www.ifish.net > Ifish Fishing and Hunting > Ifish Community

Old 05-08-2005, 05:19 PM   #1
pijon
Tuna!

Default Pouring lead molds

I am just getting started in pouring my own jigs, weights, etc. I have molds for 1oz to 4 oz jig heads and pyramid sinkers 5-10 oz. Have melted down about 100 lbs of tire weights and about 50 lbs of soft lead purchased from a scrap yard. I am coming to the conclusion that the used tire weights may not be worth the extra effort. I have been using an old pan on a cook stove as a melter and a tin can as a ladle. The Admiral donated one of her used muffin pans for an ingot mold. (that works really well)! A new ladle will be here shortly. A couple questions for those more experienced. I am looking at buying a Lee melter. I am not sure if bottom pour or ladle pour works better for pouring large molds. I think I want a 20lb pot as it wouldn't take long to go thru that much lead. My plan is to pour for personal and friends use. Mostly jigs for bottom fishing up to 8 oz and sinkers up to 10 oz. Any advice on which melting pot I should use and any helpful hints would be appreciated. I do pour only outside and wear goggles and heavy gloves and clothing. Also is there a substitute hook for the Eagle claw #413 in sizes 5/0-7/0. Thanks in advance.

pijon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 06:15 PM   #2
fishingls
Piscatologist

Default Re: Pouring lead molds