How I tie yarnies - www.ifish.net
The Oregonian's Bill Monroe!

Go Back   www.ifish.net > Ifish Fishing and Hunting > Ifish Community

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2011, 02:52 AM   #1
Back trolling
Tuna!
 
Back trolling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portland
Posts: 1,791
Default How I tie yarnies

I know everyone has there own method for tying yarnies and most have seen all the methods before. This is for a newbie to learn like how I did, or a refresher for the seasoned veteran. Any criticism is welcomed to help me improve also. Each one takes me about 30 seconds to a minute to tie
I hope the pics upload in the right order😉

1: I like to start with 3-5 strands of yarn cut into 3/4 inch long pieces.
2: wrap strands together in the middle with stretchy thread about 8 wraps
3: hold tied strands between thumb and forefinger on the stretchy thread using your thumbnail as a guide to trim yarn. Flip yarn over and repeat with other side.
4: trim as needed doesn't need to be perfect. I feel a little loose yarn gives more action.
Thread on leader with a sewing needle, or slide up the hook I bring about 10 colors pre tied on leaders then carry backups in a small box. I fish these with eggs, prawns, scent, or plain but with steelhead I think presentation is more important.


Last edited by Back trolling; 12-17-2011 at 03:10 AM. Reason: Add more info
Back trolling is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2011, 04:37 AM   #2
Roosevelt7x7
Tuna!
 
Roosevelt7x7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Douglas County
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

Cut your yarn into 9" strips. I use six instead of 3. Wrap in the same way you're doing, only repeat the process about every 1/2" or so. Now cut the yarn in between where you've wrapped. Roll the individual yarnies around in between your hands. Basically the same theory, only you make more yarnies with less waste in less time.
__________________
Roosevelt7x7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 05:16 AM   #3
Drifterman
Ifish Nate
 
Drifterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Madras Or.
Posts: 2,277
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roosevelt7x7 View Post
Cut your yarn into 9" strips. I use six instead of 3. Wrap in the same way you're doing, only repeat the process about every 1/2" or so. Now cut the yarn in between where you've wrapped. Roll the individual yarnies around in between your hands. Basically the same theory, only you make more yarnies with less waste in less time.
Thats the way my grapma showed me, only he throws them in the egg box to absorb some egg juice.
__________________
"Does anyone know where the love of God goes when the waves turn the minutes to hours" Gordon Lightfoot
Drifterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 07:09 AM   #4
woodrow
Chromer
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 698
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

I like to fish a little chunk of eggs with my yarn balls...can you do it with this set up?? Also do you thread these before you go or on the river???
woodrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 08:07 AM   #5
Fishing Dear
Tuna!
 
Fishing Dear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tigard when I'm not fishing
Posts: 1,053
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

Here's a video of a method from Hawg quest...

http://www.hawgquest.com/Tips&Tricks.html
__________________
Not this weekend honey because I'm Fishing Dear
They're over there in their boat, we're here where they were but we wear life jackets.
Fishing Dear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:16 AM   #6
sliverslinger
King Salmon
 
sliverslinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: lincoln city area
Posts: 9,305
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

The first one looked like a pain in the arse, The second one looked pretty easy to do. But to each his own.
__________________


Happiness is a large gut pile!
sliverslinger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:57 AM   #7
Green Giant
Chromer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hillsboro
Posts: 648
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

Here's another method that I use

Green Giant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 10:01 AM   #8
Fish-N-Machine
Chromer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

Here is a how to I made a couple years ago: http://www.ifish.net/board/showthrea...yarn+balls+pic
__________________
Fish-N-Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 11:57 AM   #9
Bigworm
Chromer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 828
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishing Dear View Post
Here's a video of a method from Hawg quest...

http://www.hawgquest.com/Tips&Tricks.html
He could probably make two yarnies with one package of yarn! Yikes!! What a waste. I sometimes just tie glo bugs on my vise, but when I want to fish bait as well I will just put the yarn in the loop and trim into a ball. The problem I have with making them seperate with magic thread is once you cinch the egg loop down the round ball becomes half flat.
Bigworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:14 PM   #10
Roosevelt7x7
Tuna!
 
Roosevelt7x7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Douglas County
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodrow View Post
I like to fish a little chunk of eggs with my yarn balls...can you do it with this set up?? Also do you thread these before you go or on the river???

Yes!... I like to use the standard bait loop. But when I start the loop, I run the end back through the eye before I start my wraps. You can use this loop for your yarn ball, and put a little piece of bait in the egg loop. That's the way I do it. I thread a few before I go, and some while I'm on the river.
__________________
Roosevelt7x7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:46 PM   #11
Native Fisher
King Salmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,288
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

yeah, those two ways on glenns site seem like they take alot longer, and man they use twice as much yarn as I do.
Native Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 10:04 PM   #12
Back trolling
Tuna!
 
Back trolling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portland
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roosevelt7x7 View Post
Cut your yarn into 9" strips. I use six instead of 3. Wrap in the same way you're doing, only repeat the process about every 1/2" or so. Now cut the yarn in between where you've wrapped. Roll the individual yarnies around in between your hands. Basically the same theory, only you make more yarnies with less waste in less time.
That sounds like a good improvement, I'll give it a try.
Back trolling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 02:25 AM   #13
solducsinker
Coho
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

I just started tying yarnies and I want to thank everyone for all of the good info. One thing that i started doing was grabbing a handful of mixing straws (not the regular straight drinking type straws, but the kind that have 2 really small holes) every time i went to the gas station and bought a coffee. I cut those in half (so you only have on side worth of small holes) and put that in the middle of my yarn. I tied them up just like you guys are saying, and they work great. I don't know if it is worth the extra step, but it makes it easy to thread and change yarnies as i see fit. It also frees up my bait loop. I tried tying some on the bigger straight coffee-mixing straws, and they work good too, and they also allow the yarnie to fall over the shank of the hook if you want to hide the hook. just my . thanks again for the help getting going
solducsinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 04:03 AM   #14
Back trolling
Tuna!
 
Back trolling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portland
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

Quote:
Originally Posted by solducsinker View Post
I just started tying yarnies and I want to thank everyone for all of the good info. One thing that i started doing was grabbing a handful of mixing straws (not the regular straight drinking type straws, but the kind that have 2 really small holes) every time i went to the gas station and bought a coffee. I cut those in half (so you only have on side worth of small holes) and put that in the middle of my yarn. I tied them up just like you guys are saying, and they work great. I don't know if it is worth the extra step, but it makes it easy to thread and change yarnies as i see fit. It also frees up my bait loop. I tried tying some on the bigger straight coffee-mixing straws, and they work good too, and they also allow the yarnie to fall over the shank of the hook if you want to hide the hook. just my . thanks again for the help getting going
I have some tied just like you mentioned, except I used air shock hosing. Fly shops sell a similar tube to wrap flys with, and one of the first things I heard of people using were the straws that came with WD40.
Back trolling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 10:09 AM   #15
GLA
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 324
Default Re: How I tie yarnies

I use the method you showed and keep the extras in an old lure box. I keep a larg sewing needle in a another old lure box and tie my leaders and put them on when needed. That way I can change color and size as needed for water conditions that day.
GLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Cast to



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:11 PM.

Terms of Service
Page generated in 0.31261 seconds with 37 queries