4 stroke 15hp mercury won't idle... - www.ifish.net

Go Back   www.ifish.net > Ifish Fishing and Hunting > Boat and Motor Tech

Old 05-31-2011, 11:40 AM   #1
Ifishing_Viktor
Steelhead

Default 4 stroke 15hp mercury won't idle...

Hello,

This is my first boat and motor so total newbie here. I'm mechanically inclined but it has been a long while since I looked/troubleshot a carb motor. Basically the motor runs fine under mid-full throttle, but won't start at low throttle and it won't run at low throttle, just sputters and dies.

Is this a common issue? Carb needs to be replaced? Or the gas filter? I'm guessing this is a 10 year old model. It also likes to be chocked up for quiet a while.

Thanks,
Viktor.

oh, anyway to make these things run quieter too?

Ifishing_Viktor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 12:17 PM   #2
fishkisser
King Salmon

doh Re: 4 stroke 15hp mercury won't idle...

Clean your carb and the fuel pickup on your tank and replace all filters ...
If you want it to run quieter ... get a Yamaha ...
Old 05-31-2011, 12:21 PM   #3
Ifishing_Viktor
Steelhead

Default Re: 4 stroke 15hp mercury won't idle...

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishkisser View Post
Clean your carb and the fuel pickup on your tank and replace all filters ...
If you want it to run quieter ... get a Yamaha ...
hahaha, the yamaha comment was expected Thanks for the tip, i will do some cleaning then.
Old 06-01-2011, 06:15 AM   #4
Smj
Ifish Nate

Adjust idle/air mixture screw....Turn in to gently seat while counting turns. Unscrew to original setting. Run in water, in gear to fine tune, while adjusting idle/air mixture screw AND idle speed screw. If that won't work for ya' then you may need to dissasemble and clean carb....New gaskets,needle,seat etc. Do a serch using "motor won't idle" "Kicker idle", things like that, there's been a ton written on the issue.

Smj
Old 06-01-2011, 08:42 PM   #5
Ifishing_Viktor
Steelhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smj View Post