Help - furnace won't stay running - www.ifish.net

Go Back   www.ifish.net > Ifish Fishing and Hunting > Life in General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2011, 05:31 AM   #1
ampersat
King Salmon
 
ampersat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: under the hat
Posts: 13,452
Default Help - furnace won't stay running

Gas furnace starts up like usual, will run maybe five minutes or so, then it cycles down but immediately starts up again except that the blower doesn't kick in.

__________________
"This community is what it is, because our citizens are who they are." - Plato

The days are long but the years are short.
ampersat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2011, 05:34 AM   #2
Bobba Woods
Cutthroat
 
Bobba Woods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 37
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Check the fuel filter....my furnace did the same thing till I changed the filter. hope this helps!!!
Bobba Woods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 05:40 AM   #3
iwanttofish
King Salmon
 
iwanttofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Aloha OR
Posts: 6,033
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Try changing your air filter, it sounds like your furnace is cycling. When the heat exchanger gets too hot from lack of air moving the hot air out it shuts down for safety.


Otherwise call an HVAC repair
__________________
It is better to have fished and lost, than not to have fished at all.

I come from a small drinking community with a fishing problem
iwanttofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 05:45 AM   #4
trap50
Ifish Nate
 
trap50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salem
Posts: 2,388
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Had that happen. It would cycle on and off. Forget the name of the sensor. Think it was a limiter sensor. Had to call a repair man.
__________________
trap50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 05:55 AM   #5
StickFish
King Salmon
 
StickFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere way past the bass clef. Often Tigard Oregon
Posts: 15,399
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Amp, call CD Johnson, he's a salty dog HVAC guy - very reasonable. Sounds like a limiter sensor to me also. Mine did something very similar, if it is a Rheem, it might be the controller board, I went through three or four of them before the heat exchanger cracked.
__________________
Picked a bad year to quit sniffing glue
StickFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 06:10 AM   #6
Cast Away
Chromer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 560
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

When ours did that it was the board. If I remember it was about $500 for a new one.
Cast Away is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 06:45 AM   #7
meluvtrout
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tualatin
Posts: 360
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Mine had the same issue twice. First time around, even though I replaced the air filter, didn't help. I've got a digital controller and instead of turning it on and off, I resetted the controller and it magically worked. Second time, none of these helped as it was a burnt part on the furnace itself. They replaced it for $80 and it works like a champ now. PM if you want their contact info...
__________________
@meluvtrout
meluvtrout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 06:51 AM   #8
iwanttofish
King Salmon
 
iwanttofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Aloha OR
Posts: 6,033
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cast Away View Post
When ours did that it was the board. If I remember it was about $500 for a new one.
The board on the Rheem should not be that much, my heating guy said they are in the $150-$250 range. This is on a mid 90's Rheem or Ruud. Just like the Inducer motor they are in the $150 range also, not including labor.
__________________
It is better to have fished and lost, than not to have fished at all.

I come from a small drinking community with a fishing problem
iwanttofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 06:56 AM   #9
StickFish
King Salmon
 
StickFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere way past the bass clef. Often Tigard Oregon
Posts: 15,399
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanttofish View Post
The board on the Rheem should not be that much, my heating guy said they are in the $150-$250 range. This is on a mid 90's Rheem or Ruud. Just like the Inducer motor they are in the $150 range also, not including labor.
Yep, that is about what I paid
__________________
Picked a bad year to quit sniffing glue
StickFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 07:00 AM   #10
Keta
King Salmon
 
Keta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Klamath Falls...for now
Posts: 10,931
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by StickFish View Post
Amp, call CD Johnson, he's a salty dog HVAC guy - very reasonable.
The 60 year old fan motor on our gas furnace finally quit working last week, -4 that night. A quick call to CD and Puffins Crew got the new motor on the way and I saved over $100 thanks to CD and Tom.
__________________
Where in the AUP does it say you can't point out when someone is confused?
Keta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 07:43 AM   #11
sadiesassy
Sturgeon
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: On the rim
Posts: 4,924
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Short cycling - I have had it before - temp OT switch which took about 5 min to replace.

I also had it when the batteries on my thermostat were at end of life - not sure why. Happened t o notice the display go wierd for a second - changed batteries and everythign started workign again
sadiesassy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 08:52 AM   #12
blacktail rattler
Tuna!
 
blacktail rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The "Beaver state"
Posts: 1,116
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Contact AU-EN-BOY, he helped me and is a professional in the buisness.
blacktail rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 09:07 AM   #13
uhmw
Sturgeon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: westlinn
Posts: 3,733
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Ifin yer cold and aint callin the maytag man,you might be able to fix er country style. find the air flow sensor thingy mabob that sticks into the furnace with two wires on it, generally above the filter (of course assuming the filters not cloged and your intake is not blocked) you may be able to jump the sensor conection with a small single wire. if the furnace starts up and continues to run you have identified the problem. Air flow sensors can go bad as the filter clogs they beging to cycle over and over and then stop working.
Oh ya, most important, get a new one on asap because they keep the furnace from burning up when air flow is blocked.
uhmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 09:28 AM   #14
blackvelvet
Coho
 
blackvelvet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North of Silver Lake
Posts: 75
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

What you described sounds like it is "short cycling". First check the filters.

Most frequent cause is a "limit switch", which is a sensor. Most furnaces have more than one sensor, sometimes they just stop working and need replacing, but if the sensor is actually doing its job, then there may be a defective part that is making the sensor shut down the system. Would be wise to have a qualified service tech look at it.
blackvelvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 09:40 AM   #15
Ebbtide
Coho
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

If you have an electromechanical thermostat, you may need to simply adjust the heat anticipator in it.
Ebbtide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 11:00 AM   #16
YaHoeeFishOn
Tuna!
 
YaHoeeFishOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

I would check vacuum pressure switch. There a port on motor that is connected to a dash pot with a vacuum hose. The port on motor clogs with dirt , Take a paper clip and clear vacuum port on motor. The furnace can't tell the blower motor is running because it can't see vacuum to pressure switch.
__________________
Yahooeee Fish-on Show Time
YaHoeeFishOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 11:33 AM   #17
M. Hicks
Steelhead
 
M. Hicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upriver
Posts: 392
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by YaHoeeFishOn View Post
I would check vacuum pressure switch. There a port on motor that is connected to a dash pot with a vacuum hose. The port on motor clogs with dirt , Take a paper clip and clear vacuum port on motor. The furnace can't tell the blower motor is running because it can't see vacuum to pressure switch.
+1 It happened on mine twice, easy fix. You can pull the vacuum hose off and using your mouth check to see the dash pot will hold a vacuum.
M. Hicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 12:06 PM   #18
ampersat
King Salmon
 
ampersat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: under the hat
Posts: 13,452
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

CD Johnson just left. While he was here, we couldn't get it to fail but we did go over what to look at, what to check for, etc. and reseated a few connections. Hopefully it's all better now.
__________________
"This community is what it is, because our citizens are who they are." - Plato

The days are long but the years are short.
ampersat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 01:51 PM   #19
HiTekRdNek
Ifish Nate
 
HiTekRdNek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lake Oswego
Posts: 2,121
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

CD Johnson is the man! Glad he took care of you.
__________________
HiTekRdNek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 02:06 PM   #20
FishNutz
Steelhead
 
FishNutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 129
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampersat View Post
Gas furnace starts up like usual, will run maybe five minutes or so, then it cycles down but immediately starts up again except that the blower doesn't kick in.
Sounds like the High Temperature Limit switch. It's supposed to shut down if the blower doesn't start. I'm sure that if you do a little research on your furnace you can find it on a wiring schematic. You should have continuity across the terminals when you check it with an Ohm-meter. If not..You will need a new one. Just make sure to get the correct one so the ratings are right. It's normally just 2 screws and 2 wires.
There is also an "auto-reset" type available from some manufactures to reduce some of the random issues. The tips about the air filter would also be a great place to start. Lack of air-flow causes quite a few problems.
__________________
Many men go fishing all of their lives without knowing that it is not fish they are after. Henry David Thoreau
FishNutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 03:03 PM   #21
Cast Away
Chromer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 560
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanttofish View Post
The board on the Rheem should not be that much, my heating guy said they are in the $150-$250 range. This is on a mid 90's Rheem or Ruud. Just like the Inducer motor they are in the $150 range also, not including labor.

Ours is a Trane not Rheem. I could also be off on the price but I'm sure it was over $350
Cast Away is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 03:13 PM   #22
kenai
Tuna!
 
kenai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hillsboro, Or.
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

One thing I discovered is the flame sensor can cause that exact problem. Every year I pull it out and clean it with some steel wool, reinsert and back in business. There should be a diagram on the panel showing it's location. Never fails when the expert is there.
__________________
Mike
kenai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 07:25 PM   #23
Au-en-boy
Steelhead
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 314
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Thanks for the plug Rattler..... Glad the fireplace is working.

Sounds to me like the high temperature limit, or maybe the board. Or ot could be the wiring associated with either. Some model numbers and a manufacturer would be a great help, that way I could look it up and see what the components are. If it's older and has a fan/limit control (silver box about 3"wide, 1.5" deep, and 4" high - may say Honeywell) open it up and watch the dial - it can "stick" and may need to be replaced. Just my first thought, but let me know the model and I will take a "200 mile away" guess".
Au-en-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 07:52 PM   #24
Hell-B
Tuna! AKA Papermaker
 
Hell-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Stafford Triangle
Posts: 3,127
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

There are two most likely causes, both already mentioned.

The first is the vac sensor. It gets a little dirt in it and doesn't tell the furnace that you fan is running so it stops the cycle but then the thermostat tells the furnace that it needs heat so it starts the cycle all over.
The second is the burner sensor and it doesn't realize that the burners fired so after a few seconds, the cycle starts over.
The guys already told you the solutions.
Many furnaces have a set of blinking lights that will tell you what is wrong.
Google up Hvac-Diy chatroom-diy home improvement forum
There is one last thing but it's not likely but that is a cracked heat exchanger.
I used that forum to repair a furnace last year.
__________________



The good old days are gone
Hell-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 07:56 PM   #25
MattPark
Sturgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,759
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by M. Hicks View Post
+1 It happened on mine twice, easy fix. You can pull the vacuum hose off and using your mouth check to see the dash pot will hold a vacuum.
This happens to ours at least twice a year. I left a paperclip in the box with instructions on where to stick it () should it happen when I'm not around. The nice thing is the unit will blink a trouble code on an LED when there is an issue, it made it very easy to diagnose the first time.
MattPark is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 09:33 AM   #26
BrianMaguire
King Salmon
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,347
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by YaHoeeFishOn View Post
I would check vacuum pressure switch. There a port on motor that is connected to a dash pot with a vacuum hose. The port on motor clogs with dirt , Take a paper clip and clear vacuum port on motor. The furnace can't tell the blower motor is running because it can't see vacuum to pressure switch.
This just happened to me, very timely on the thread thanks. With mine the rubber hose for the vacuum pressure just failed, cracked because it was too old.
__________________
"The significant problems we face today cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them." Albert Einstein
BrianMaguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 09:37 AM   #27
30pound-tasty-fish
Ifish Nate
 
30pound-tasty-fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In Oregon Surrounded By Washington License Plates
Posts: 2,163
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Back in my HVAC days I found the most likely canidates for your symtoms to be:

80% furnace (Vents with double walled vent pipe) : Flame sensor is out
90% furnace (Vents with PVC pipe): Exhaust pressure switch is out
__________________
You get three guesses. The first two don't count.
30pound-tasty-fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 06:18 AM   #28
meluvtrout
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tualatin
Posts: 360
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Does anyone have CD Johnson's phone number?
__________________
@meluvtrout
meluvtrout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 06:21 AM   #29
Keta
King Salmon
 
Keta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Klamath Falls...for now
Posts: 10,931
Default Re: Help - furnace won't stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by meluvtrout View Post
Does anyone have CD Johnson's phone number?
Yes
__________________
Where in the AUP does it say you can't point out when someone is confused?
Keta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Cast to



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:52 PM.

Terms of Service
Page generated in 0.39248 seconds with 50 queries