elk habits - www.ifish.net

Go Back   www.ifish.net > Ifish Fishing and Hunting > Ifish Hunting

Old 06-04-2009, 07:26 PM   #1
Umpquahntr
Chromer

Default elk habits

I've been doing some brainstorming on ambush tactics and I was curious if anyone knows if elk will come into the same area/unit to feed back to back? In other words, if elk come into a feeding area in the evening, will they hit it again the next evening, or do they give it a few days before they come back to that spot?

Umpquahntr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-04-2009, 08:05 PM   #2
ehunter
King Salmon

Default Re: elk habits

I am no elk expert but yes and no they might feed in the same cut for a couple of days at a time but they seem to feed in a circuit. I think thats gods or natures way of them not eating the ground to the roots. I would think if you find elk that are not bothered you will have a decent chance at getting them for at least a day or two. If the wind changes direction they will probably approach from a different direction.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Umpquahntr View Post
I've been doing some brainstorming on ambush tactics and I was curious if anyone knows if elk will come into the same area/unit to feed back to back? In other words, if elk come into a feeding area in the evening, will they hit it again the next evening, or do they give it a few days before they come back to that spot?

Last edited by ehunter; 06-04-2009 at 08:07 PM.
ehunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 08:48 PM   #3
Travman
Steelhead