IFish Fishing Forum banner

Fiberglass drift boat ?

3K views 8 replies 8 participants last post by  Grantspastor 
#1 ·
I am going to buy a DB! I am looking at some older fiberglass boats. My ? is, what would be a bad sign to look for in a older boat? I am new to buying or owning a Drift boat. This will be my first DB. Should I be looking at a Alum. or mybe wood? I really dont like the Wood idea of a DB. I like the Fiberglass because it will be a lighter boat....I dont know!!! Just so many choices and know one to ask about it, but you guys! Any info would be great...Thanks so much. I will be running rivers like...North/east lewis, kalama river, washougal....ect.

#3 ·
It's really a matter of preference and the type of fishing you like to do. For the rivers you mentioned above a glass or aluminum boat would do just fine.

Some things to consider, fiberglass tends to slide over rocks better than aluminum, so if you're running shallow water a lot fiberglass may be better. There are a lot, and I mean a lot, of aluminum boats out on the used market, so you can probably get a pretty good deal on an aluminum model. Clackacraft, seems to be one of the front runners in fiberglass, but I don't see as many used clackacraft's as I do Willie, Northriver, Alumaweld, or Koffler's.

Do what you can to go for a trip in as many different types of boats as you can and then make the choice based on what's going to work for you best.

Good luck!

#4 ·
I've had both,,,,for my money a Lavro Glass boat was the best I ever owned. Decided I didn't use it enough and sold it to a guy whose grandfather lived on the Clackamas River. It was a beauty, and have kicked myself for the last 14 years for not just letting it sit in the back forty and wait for fall. If I ever get another chance at another, I'll buy it.

#6 · (Edited)