Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid? - www.ifish.net
Leave no Dog Behind

Go Back   www.ifish.net > Ifish Fishing and Hunting > The Salty Dogs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2008, 12:33 PM   #1
BentMetal
Chromer
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 727
Default Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

Well, I was planning on getting some 3/8" hollow poly rope and a fid, but I have never really used a fid before. First off, if I wanted to make a loop, do you use the fid to thread the line back into the hollow section, or do you just weave it in and out of the line?

Second, any pointers on how to make the cross/bridle at the top of the cage?

I am going to buy the line and fid right now, and try it out on one pot. Any pointers will be appreciated.

BentMetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2008, 12:56 PM   #2
gerberman
Chromer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eugene, OR and Soldotna Alaska
Posts: 505
Default Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

You thread the line inside the fid after you have melted the end of the line. Then thread the fid inside the line to form the loop. Make a long, about 6 inch loop, then pull it to a smaller loop, I always tape the end of the line that I let stick out of the line, as it will sometimes loosen and you can lose your pot. Good luck, try pulling on the line on shore to see what happens before you throw it overboard. Gerberman
__________________
34 foot R B Boat 12 foot beam
gerberman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 01:03 PM   #3
DavidL
Cutthroat
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 29
Default Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

I have also tied a quick overhand knot near the loop (if you can) after the line is threaded thru just to make sure it doesn't pull free. Otherwise, just run the line a long way inside the poly to make sure it's secure.
DavidL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 03:52 PM   #4
Grizzly II
Tuna!
 
Grizzly II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

I use a hog ring through the splice at the end. That will keep it from pulling out. Remember that many of the hollow core poly lines float and make wonderful Prop catchers. I put about 16 oz of lead on the rope below the buoy to make sure there is no floating line to get wrapped up in a prop.
Grizzly II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 07:20 PM   #5
Tip-Sea
Chromer
 
Tip-Sea's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 659
Default Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

I wish it was the law that everyone have weight on non sinking ropes!
__________________
Mike Parent
Tip-Sea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 09:14 PM   #6
Fish_N_Russ
Sturgeon
 
Fish_N_Russ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Florence
Posts: 4,435
Default Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

where do u get hog rings/pliers?? anyone?
Fish_N_Russ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 09:44 PM   #7
C Attitude
Cutthroat
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Longview , Wa.
Posts: 40
Talking Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

Try running a wire tie trough both pieces of the hollow braid , works good for me .
C Attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 12:05 AM   #8
Grizzly II
Tuna!
 
Grizzly II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish_N_Russ View Post
where do u get hog rings/pliers?? anyone?

Most any animal feed store will carry them.
Grizzly II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 08:28 AM   #9
Spoiled Daddy
Ifish Nate
 
Spoiled Daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newport
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by C Attitude View Post
Try running a wire tie trough both pieces of the hollow braid , works good for me .
I do the same. Push a zip tie through both sections of rope after you have fed it inside. Locks the rope in place and I have never had one come undone that way.

Arima Grizzly has a great idea on the line weight. Poly rope, no line weight and a windy day make for a mess in a engine prop!
__________________
the Spoiled Daddy 20' Hewescraft Open Fisherman

I support our troops! :flag2

Spoiled Daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 08:41 AM   #10
javahead33
Steelhead
 
javahead33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Eugene
Posts: 111
Default Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

[quote=BentMetal;2229337]
Second, any pointers on how to make the cross/bridle at the top of the cage?

quote]

Danielson also sells a very handy four point harness.

Matt
__________________
Everyone brightens a room, some by walking in, others... by walking out.
javahead33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 09:06 AM   #11
Danno
Ifish Nate
 
Danno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Juan Capistrano, CA
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by javahead33 View Post
Danielson also sells a very handy four point harness.

I used the four point harness because of the quick release allowing quick storage; afterall, you're using Danielson's because they collapse, right? It also helps secure the side doors from coming unhooked.
__________________
Team Arima!
Danno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 09:12 AM   #12
Irish Pennant
Sturgeon
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,093
Default Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

My setups are basicly 3 sections

1st is the trap
2nd is the rope
3rd is the float

On my traps I spliced a harness to the trap. Made up 50 ft and 150 ft lines (lead line) with snap rings at both ends. Made up a float section with 2 floats and a tag line.

When crabbing the bays I take the 50 ft lines and when crabbing off shore I take the 150 ft sections.

I also took some 1/8" x 2" Hot Roll steel and cut it to the length of the trap, bent the ends down about 30 degrees. Drilled a couple of holes in them and I zip tie them to the inside bottom of the trap with the bent ends protruding down and out of the cage. 2 per trap, They add weight, ground the trap and also dig into the sand a little to help keep the trap from dragging around. I also added lead weights to the doors to help keep them closed against the current.

Splicing the polyrope, as others have said, melt the end, tape the fid, push it back up through the core as far as you can, if you can get 6 ft of it back into the core then do it. You can use a sail makers needle and bees thread to add a serving to the splice. I just use 3 strand lead line and eye slpice or back splice in all the ends. Lead line is wound tight and a marlin spike is needed to work with it.
__________________
Nothing happens to those that do nothing
Irish Pennant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 07:56 PM   #13
Bandy76
Steelhead
 
Bandy76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clatskanie, Oregon
Posts: 230
Default Re: Rigging Danielson Crab Pots - Using a fid?

When using poly rope always go in about 4 - 6 " then out. go back in (to the center of the rope)& make your inside thread about 18 " this will hold more than the rope.
Your can also attach leat weights to the rope so as to make rope sink.
__________________

Semper Fi
Bandy76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Cast to



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:48 AM.

Terms of Service
Page generated in 0.30272 seconds with 34 queries