fish finder transponder set-up - www.ifish.net

Go Back   www.ifish.net > Ifish Fishing and Hunting > Boat and Motor Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2008, 09:29 PM   #1
Klicker
Steelhead
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 133
Default fish finder transponder set-up

What is the best way to place the transducer for my fish finder? Can I place it inside the boat or does it have to go on the exterior? My boat is fiberglass.

Thanks


Last edited by Klicker; 08-01-2008 at 05:52 AM. Reason: corrected word
Klicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 04:10 AM   #2
fishingls
Piscatologist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Where Snake meets Columbia
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: fish finder transponder set-up

I assume what you call the transponder is a transducer. Depending on the type of transducer you have, it can be in either location. It would help to know more about your fish finder and transducer to know where it can be mounted.
Where ever you mount, avoidance of air bubbles or water turbulance is critical. Inside the hull mounts usually utilize some type of material (ie glue or epoxy) to bond the transducer to the hull. If you do an in hull installation, for best results, play with the transducer location before deciding on a final mount. Modeling clay to secure the transducer to the hull can used for determining the best location.
Exterior hull transom mount, look for a location that is turbulance free, offers good water contact and is away from the motor. You may find you have to experiment with locations for best results.
__________________
Work is for people who don't know how to fish.
fishingls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 06:05 AM   #3
Klicker
Steelhead
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 133
Default Re: fish finder transponder set-up

The fishfinder is an Eagle brand Cuda 168, the transducer came with it. I'm putting it in a drift boat, so my preference would be an inside the boat location.
Klicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 06:30 AM   #4
fishkisser
King Salmon
 
fishkisser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Emerald Triangle
Posts: 8,366
Cool Re: fish finder transponder set-up

To test for location in the boat pull floor boards (naturally) place in the hull with the boat in the water and use modeling clay to make a dam around it so you can fill with water to simulate the epoxy it will be living in ...
You may have to move it around quite a bit before it reads properly ...
After you find the best location mark it and dry the inside thoroughly ...
Them mix up a sufficient amount of epoxy to fill the dammed area and set the transducer in it taking care not to have any air bubbles under the transducer ...
Good Luck ...Barney
__________________
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." ~Thomas Edison ...
fishkisser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 02:24 PM   #5
Klicker
Steelhead
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 133
Default Re: fish finder transponder set-up

Thanks Barney,

Sounds like a rather permanent installation. Maybe I should go for a better quality fishfinder. Any recommendations?
Klicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 07:04 PM   #6
stevo
Tuna!
 
stevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SE PDX
Posts: 1,527
Default Re: fish finder transponder set-up

For a driftboat, I would recommend a fishing buddy portable. There's really no good place on a DB hull for a transducer, esp if you use it as a DB, plus an in the hull mount is just going to get beat up. The only drawback to a fishin buddy is having to remember to pull it before you run (jog more like it.)
Good luck
__________________
buffoonery

n : acting like a clown or buffoon

"it is never too late to become what you might have been." George Eliot
stevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 09:24 PM   #7
fishkisser
King Salmon
 
fishkisser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Emerald Triangle
Posts: 8,366
Cool Re: fish finder transponder set-up

If you are in any current at all that fishn buddy will wobble and vibrate to the point of not being able to properly operate at all ...
__________________
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." ~Thomas Edison ...
fishkisser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 07:05 AM   #8
Klicker
Steelhead
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 133
Default Re: fish finder transponder set-up

I'm trying to compromise, using the boat as a drift boat as well as fishing the Columbia on calm days. So the in-boat installation seems best to me, hoping to keep things as simple as possible.
Klicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 07:10 AM   #9
fishkisser
King Salmon
 
fishkisser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Emerald Triangle
Posts: 8,366
Cool Re: fish finder transponder set-up

In hull will be a piece of cake ... and when its under the floor boards it can't get doinked , just watch out for where you run the cable ...
Barney
__________________
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." ~Thomas Edison ...
fishkisser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 09:05 PM   #10
Klicker
Steelhead
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 133
Default Re: fish finder transponder set-up

Thanks guys, for your help.
Klicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Cast to



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:39 AM.

Terms of Service
Page generated in 0.19960 seconds with 30 queries