penn 320 gt2 rebuild - www.ifish.net
The Oregonian's Bill Monroe!

Go Back   www.ifish.net > Ifish Fishing and Hunting > Tech Tips and Keepers

Old 04-15-2007, 08:53 AM   #1
FishyBuckSlayer
Steelhead

Default penn 320 gt2 rebuild

Admins... I tried to post to Tech Tips but do not have permission. I hope this is an ok spot.

http://www.ifish.net/board/showthrea...nn+320+rebuild

Alantani... I owe you a huge thank you for your article on the Penn 320 rebuild. Yesterday, after a great day of sturgeon fishing with my family, I had the bright idea to do some reel maintenance. Had I read your article first, I could have saved myself a lot of panic.

Here's the story...

THOUGHT: These reels could use some fresh grease. Heck, I'm an engineer. How hard could it be?

ACTION:
1) Grabbed a couple screw drivers, pulled the handle, lever, and knob on the right side.
2) Pulled all screws from the right side.
3) Pulled the right side from the body of the reel and heard "boing"
4) Panic set in.
5) Pieces and springs started falling out.
6) Realized I just made a terrible mistake and should have checked ifish before I started.
7) Whined to my wife that I just "destroyed a good reel trying to do maintenance"
8) Googled "Penn 320 assembly" and got NOTHING of any use
9) Searched ifish for "Penn 320" and found Alantani's Tech Tip "penn 320 gt2 rebuild"
10) Went back down to the garage. Tried to assemble the reel. Got close but not perfect.
11) Bit the bullet and opened a second Penn 320 per Alantani's instructions. WOW!! That was easy.
12) Assembled the exploded reel by looking at the second reel and following Alantani's instructions.
13) Everything works PERFECTLY!!

Now, I just need to start all over; clean all the parts, re-lube, and assemble. THANK YOU IFISH, you saved me a humbling trip to Ollie Damon's with a bag of parts.

Jennie,