Radar dome placement - www.ifish.net
Leave no Dog Behind

Go Back   www.ifish.net > Ifish Fishing and Hunting > The Salty Dogs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 04:44 PM   #1
Plumber John
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,Wash
Posts: 377
Default Radar dome placement

Has anyone put a radar dome on the North River rigid top, I dont want a radar arch because I will be removing the top for sking and wart casting. I have a pully system set up under my boatport to remove the top, a arch would make it harder to work around.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0435.jpg (182.1 KB, 117 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0436.jpg (192.7 KB, 112 views)

Plumber John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 04:47 PM   #2
C-Lark
Chromer
 
C-Lark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Washougal, WA
Posts: 504
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber John View Post
Has anyone put a radar dome on the North River rigid top, I dont want a radar arch because I will be removing the top for sking and wart casting. I have a pully system set up under my boatport to remove the top, a arch would make it harder to work around.
If you mount the radar on the top, wouldn't you have to undo all the wiring and cabling when you remove the top??

C-Lark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 04:49 PM   #3
Plumber John
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,Wash
Posts: 377
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Yep, I figured that would be doable Like the lights connections on the top, maybe Im wrong I have not looked at the connections on the dome, It will plugg into my hds7 I have yet to buy it so I guess Im a little in the blind on the connections. ( I just looked a the wiring online and they have a interface box that would make a easy connect and disconnect.)

Last edited by Plumber John; 05-06-2012 at 05:13 PM.
Plumber John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:25 PM   #4
oregonrafter
Tuna!
 
oregonrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NW Portland
Posts: 1,822
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Have you considered a folding arch? This would allow you to remove your top, and would give you lots of area for rod holders.
__________________
Mike
oregonrafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:33 PM   #5
Plumber John
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,Wash
Posts: 377
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Not yet. I am looken at all options Plus the arch = more money.
Plumber John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:08 PM   #6
D'tails
Steelhead
 
D'tails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 475
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber John View Post
Not yet. I am looken at all options Plus the arch = more money.
One thing that I constantly tell people that are thinking about purchasing a boat.

BOAT = MORE MONEY AND IT NEVER STOPS

I have a rigid top as well and i recently have decided a tower is about two months away. I have been shopping every tower company, every option, and alternatives for almost a year while saving up for it. A folding tower like recommend above will run you $1800-$2300 depending on your selected options. You have several options within 2 hours of where you live when it come to towers.

Tlakidd
D'tails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:24 PM   #7
GaryB
Chromer
 
GaryB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay City
Posts: 515
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber John View Post
Has anyone put a radar dome on the North River rigid top, I dont want a radar arch because I will be removing the top for sking and wart casting. I have a pully system set up under my boatport to remove the top, a arch would make it harder to work around.
Hi John.....been down that road........had Samson make a tower for me. You can still take the top off if you like. They did an great job! I believe metal manipulator does towers also.
GaryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:39 PM   #8
di choi
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Saint Helens
Posts: 307
Default Re: Radar dome placement

It would not be a problem doing what you are thinking. In fact, wished I would have thought about it. The dome does not weigh that much.
The radar will unplug but the wiring harness will have to travel on the outside of the frame work rather than thru the channel like the light wiring. Just unplug and roll up the cord.
I would suggest elevating the radar unit a bit to "see" over the top.
Like your pully system. That would eleminate the need for my brother-in-law.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber John View Post
Has anyone put a radar dome on the North River rigid top, I dont want a radar arch because I will be removing the top for sking and wart casting. I have a pully system set up under my boatport to remove the top, a arch would make it harder to work around.
di choi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:40 PM   #9
di choi
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Saint Helens
Posts: 307
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Mike............focus....


Quote:
Originally Posted by oregonrafter View Post
Have you considered a folding arch? This would allow you to remove your top, and would give you lots of area for rod holders.
di choi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:16 PM   #10
oregonrafter
Tuna!
 
oregonrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NW Portland
Posts: 1,822
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by di choi View Post
Mike............focus....
__________________
Mike
oregonrafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:28 PM   #11
Hard Cast
Chromer
 
Hard Cast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Damascus
Posts: 772
Default Re: Radar dome placement

I just got my boat back from the installer today. I have the same boat and top as you. I forgot to take pictures before putting her away in the shop today but I will post some pictures tomorrow. I think the fella did a very good job on this tower. It has radar, gps mount, lights, tow spindle lots of rod holders and I had him fabricate me a custom davit that matches the shape of the top.
__________________
"Those who hammer their guns into plows will plow for those who do not." Thomas Jefferson
Hard Cast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:43 AM   #12
Shaker-King
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Bethany/Beaverton
Posts: 351
Default Re: Radar dome placement

There is a Boulton moored at St Helens that has the radar mounted on the rigid top and through the canvas. Try talking to the Boulton folks.
__________________
The more I learn, the less I know.
Shaker-King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:15 AM   #13
Hard Cast
Chromer
 
Hard Cast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Damascus
Posts: 772
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Pictures as promised. Sorry for low quality photos. I asked him to make my davit the same angle as my top and tower for a cleaner look than what I have seen before. He did a great job with my request and even improved upon it by angling the support at a 45 which makes it look even better than my original idea. The second picture - it's hard to see the davit because it follows the lines of the tower so well.




Tower down


This last one is with the crab davit in the use position.

__________________
"Those who hammer their guns into plows will plow for those who do not." Thomas Jefferson
Hard Cast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:17 PM   #14
jasonbartosz
Chromer
 
jasonbartosz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 970
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Your radar dome will come hard wired. We spliced ours since it came with way more wire than we needed. The white radar wire will go down to a processor (black amp looking device). It will then come out as a yellow coded wire that plugs into your HDS unit. We have the same setup on our boat. It has a twist type plug that can be unscrewed when you want to disconnect it from the processor. The processor should come in the same box as the radar. Ours is the LRA-18. Let me know if you have any questions when you are installing it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber John View Post
Yep, I figured that would be doable Like the lights connections on the top, maybe Im wrong I have not looked at the connections on the dome, It will plugg into my hds7 I have yet to buy it so I guess Im a little in the blind on the connections. ( I just looked a the wiring online and they have a interface box that would make a easy connect and disconnect.)
__________________
"Watch your top knot!"
jasonbartosz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 02:09 PM   #15
schoenberg
Steelhead
 
schoenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Springfield Oregon
Posts: 431
Default Re: Radar dome placement

I'm already spending money that I havent earned yet. YIKES~!

I have a boulton with a rigid frame top and I have to take it off to store the boat in the garage. (currently in the driveway for the month of may) However, I would be much less likely to not store the boat in the garage when a radar is installed. I wonder how they make that connection and still maintain a water resistant top?
__________________
Cybium Albacore Piscatoris
Team Flying Iron
schoenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 03:05 PM   #16
croation2
Ifish Nate
 
croation2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,854
Default Re: Radar dome placement

John, Would it work to put it on your ski pole and then come up with a way to store it when running the rods? You would need some type of connector. I don't use my ski pole, you can have it if you can make it work. It would look funny, but you should be ok with that!
__________________
The opinions expressed by the croation are not necessarily those of my own! I am only here, waiting for the Tuna to come.
croation2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 04:35 PM   #17
Plumber John
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,Wash
Posts: 377
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by croation2 View Post
John, Would it work to put it on your ski pole and then come up with a way to store it when running the rods? You would need some type of connector. I don't use my ski pole, you can have it if you can make it work. It would look funny, but you should be ok with that!
Mike you been eating to many of them mushrooms.
Plumber John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:27 PM   #18
Plumber John
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,Wash
Posts: 377
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonbartosz View Post
Your radar dome will come hard wired. We spliced ours since it came with way more wire than we needed. The white radar wire will go down to a processor (black amp looking device). It will then come out as a yellow coded wire that plugs into your HDS unit. We have the same setup on our boat. It has a twist type plug that can be unscrewed when you want to disconnect it from the processor. The processor should come in the same box as the radar. Ours is the LRA-18. Let me know if you have any questions when you are installing it.
Thanks now if I can find out if the top can hold the 16 lbs with the boat bouncing around thats the broadband 3g radar. Wow I just looked at the Lra 1800 you have, it only weighs 9lbs I will look into that one.

Last edited by Plumber John; 05-07-2012 at 06:03 PM.
Plumber John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:31 PM   #19
Plumber John
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,Wash
Posts: 377
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by di choi View Post
It would not be a problem doing what you are thinking. In fact, wished I would have thought about it. The dome does not weigh that much.
The radar will unplug but the wiring harness will have to travel on the outside of the frame work rather than thru the channel like the light wiring. Just unplug and roll up the cord.
I would suggest elevating the radar unit a bit to "see" over the top.
Like your pully system. That would eleminate the need for my brother-in-law.
Yes I think elevating the radar a little is a good idea.
Plumber John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:43 PM   #20
no excuses
Chromer
 
no excuses's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 685
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber John View Post
Thanks now if I can find out if the top can hold the 16 lbs with the boat bouncing around thats the broadband 3g radar. Wow I just looked at the Lra 1800 you have, it only weighs 9lbs I will look into that one.
I talked to NR shop last spring about mounting the radar dome to the rigid frame top and it was not recomended. The top is not designed to handle the additional weight. I had several quotes on building a tower and after thinking about it I ordered up a spool gun and just built my own and am very happy with it. Plenty of pole holders, get the vhf antena, light, and gps antena up out of the way also. I also made a deck light mount while I was at it.



__________________
2001 contender 27 open,
no excuses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:53 PM   #21
Plumber John
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,Wash
Posts: 377
Default Re: Radar dome placement

It just seems 9lbs is not very much weight and if I built a little 4 legged mount, I dont know?
Plumber John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 06:07 AM   #22
Tagster
Ifish Nate
 
Tagster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Molalla
Posts: 2,219
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber John View Post
It just seems 9lbs is not very much weight and if I built a little 4 legged mount, I dont know?
They told me that the NR radar arch wasn't rated for towing a wakeboarder, either and that they didn't recommend it.

We did it for three years with zero issues.

I think it is all about CYA.

Then again, I sell carpet for a living and know nothing about structural integrity...YMMV.

Tag
__________________
Tagster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 08:30 AM   #23
jasonbartosz
Chromer
 
jasonbartosz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 970
Default Re: Radar dome placement

If you put a good backer plate on it, I can't imagine it would be a problem. If you were out in the snow you would get more than 9 pounds of weight on it in no time.

I would worry more about how to make sure the holes through the canvas wont leak. If it was me I might look at having some stainless grommets put into the top to match the hole spacing on your radar and then put in rubber grommet inserts into those. When you tighten the radar bolts down it will compress the grommets and should make a good seal. I think that should stop any leaking, and it would look professional.

that's my worth
__________________
"Watch your top knot!"
jasonbartosz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 08:31 AM   #24
Plumber John
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,Wash
Posts: 377
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tagster View Post
They told me that the NR radar arch wasn't rated for towing a wakeboarder, either and that they didn't recommend it.

We did it for three years with zero issues.

I think it is all about CYA.

Then again, I sell carpet for a living and know nothing about structural integrity...YMMV.

Tag
Yep I think your right
Plumber John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:05 AM   #25
croation2
Ifish Nate
 
croation2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,854
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by oregonrafter View Post
Have you considered a folding arch? This would allow you to remove your top, and would give you lots of area for rod holders.
How bout an arch on a rail system that would slide back a couple feet after loosening some knobs?

I'm serious this time John
__________________
The opinions expressed by the croation are not necessarily those of my own! I am only here, waiting for the Tuna to come.
croation2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 02:18 PM   #26
Dave G
King Salmon
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jefferson Owner/Operator of the Kalena
Posts: 26,242
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Although not installed in this pic. Mine is right behind the canvas flap up front.

__________________
If it can't be Salmon, I'll take Halibut!!!

Dave G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 07:01 PM   #27
Plumber John
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,Wash
Posts: 377
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonbartosz View Post
If you put a good backer plate on it, I can't imagine it would be a problem. If you were out in the snow you would get more than 9 pounds of weight on it in no time.

I would worry more about how to make sure the holes through the canvas wont leak. If it was me I might look at having some stainless grommets put into the top to match the hole spacing on your radar and then put in rubber grommet inserts into those. When you tighten the radar bolts down it will compress the grommets and should make a good seal. I think that should stop any leaking, and it would look professional.

that's my worth
I like I like.
Plumber John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 07:02 PM   #28
Plumber John
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,Wash
Posts: 377
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave G View Post
Although not installed in this pic. Mine is right behind the canvas flap up front.

Sent you a pm
Plumber John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 07:03 PM   #29
Plumber John
Steelhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver,Wash
Posts: 377
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by croation2 View Post
How bout an arch on a rail system that would slide back a couple feet after loosening some knobs?

I'm serious this time John
Its a good thought Mike.
Plumber John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:11 PM   #30
Dave G
King Salmon
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jefferson Owner/Operator of the Kalena
Posts: 26,242
Default Re: Radar dome placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber John View Post
Sent you a pm

PM and pictures sent.
__________________
If it can't be Salmon, I'll take Halibut!!!

Dave G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Cast to



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:24 PM.

Terms of Service
Page generated in 0.68543 seconds with 52 queries